Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees 2017-04-21T08:45:35+00:00

An advisory Library Board of Trustees is appointed for three-year terms by the Polk County Board of County Commissioners. The Board’s regular meeting time is the fourth Thursday of January, April, July and October, at 5:30 pm.   Check the library calendar to verify meeting dates and locations or call (828) 849-8721 x224 for more information. All meetings are open to the public.

Anyone interested in adding his or her name to a pool of applicants for Library Board vacancies should complete the county’s online Application for Appointment to Volunteer Board. Applications on file are considered by the Board of County Commissioners whenever board vacancies occur. Terms are for three years. Current Board members interested in serving a second term must reapply for the position. No Board member may serve for more than six consecutive years. Board vacancies are announced in local newspapers.

Library Bylaws 


Polk County Public Library
Board of Trustees

Barie Baker (Chair)
Clint Blanton
Diana Blanton
Sally Dayvault
Alison Heston
Ted Hiley
Paula Kempton
Elna Owens
Laura Smith
Pam Gray (Friends of the Library)
Shane Bradley (Commissioner Liaison)
Rishara Finsel (Library Director)